* Washington State law.
Student must be 15 years of age by the first day of class.*
If the student does not already have a learner's permit, a permit waiver will be available no sooner than 10 days* prior to the start of the class. About 10 days prior to the start of the class, we will email information on how to get a learner permit online or when the student can go the Department of Licensing to get his or her permit issued. This waives the knowledge test until after driver ed. classes are done.
ALL STUDENTS MUST HAVE THEIR LEARNER’S PERMIT BY the second week of class so they can begin the behind-the wheel driving instruction.
A $175 NON-REFUNDABLE registration fee is required at the time of registration to secure a space in the class. Tuition must be received in full by the end of the 3rd week of class. We will send an online invoice around the 3rd week of class so tuition balance can be payed online if it is more convienent.
New students may not enroll after the 3rd class.* ALL students must be present on the 1st day of class!!
Students may receive a refund of the course fee paid if they withdraw during the first three days of the class. The $175 registration fee is not refundable. Failing or being dismissed from the course does NOT result in a refund.
Attendance is mandatory for each class session and each behind the wheel drive. A student cannot miss more than THREE classes, or he/she will be dropped from the course without a refund. Student must be present for the 1st class. Absences and missed drives must be made up during the following class session! The student must attend the same lesson missed.
Excessive tardiness may be considered an absence and may result in course failure. Sports participation does not take precedence over what is required this course.
Please be sure that your schedule will allow you to attend each and every class and scheduled drive!
Behind the Wheel Instruction (BTW)
Road Scholar Driving School instructs the student in a minimum of SIX (6) hours of BTW lessons and ONE hour of observation.*
Students must have FIFTY (50) hours* of LOGGED BTW practice before he/she will be issued a driver license.* The student needs to continually put into practice what is being taught in-class and BTW. This is a team effort between the student, parent and the driving school.
BTW instruction progresses from simple to more complex driving skills. The lessons directly correlate to the in-class lessons taught that week.
Students sign up weekly for drive times for the following week. BTW drives are scheduled for ONE hour (except for the first drive which is TWO students for a 2 hour lesson). Please plan ahead and have in mind any potential conflicts when signing up for drive times.
If the student is unable to make it to his/ her scheduled drive, Road Scholar Driving School must be notified at least 24 hours in advance- Failure to do so will result in a $25 no-show fee.
Students must bring their driver instruction permit for each and every drive! *
* Washington State Law